Eurocode 8: Design of structures for earthquake resistance

BS EN 1998

BS EN 1998 applies to the design and construction of buildings and civil engineering works in seimic regions. The aim of BS EN 1998 is to protect people and limit damage during earthquakes.

BS EN 1998 Eurocode 8 is in six parts:

  • Part 1 covers general rules, seismic actions and rules for buildings.
  • Part 2 covers bridges.
  • Part 3 covers the strengthening and repair of buildings.
  • Part 4 deals with silos, tanks and pipelines.
  • Part 5 deals with foundations, retaining structures and pipelines.
  • Part 6 covers towers, masts and chimneys.

It is unlikely that BS EN 1998 needs to be used in the UK, except for special structures (e.g. nuclear structures, long span bridges and tall buildings).


BS EN 1998-1:2004

General rules, seismic actions and rules for buildings

BS EN 1998-2:2005


BS EN 1998-3:2005

Assessment and retrofitting of buildings

BS EN 1998-4:2006

Silos, tanks and pipelines

BS EN 1998-5:2004

Foundations, retaining structures and geotechnical aspects

BS EN 1998-6:2005

Towers, masts and chimneys

PD 6698 Recommendations for the design of structures for earthquake
resistance to BS EN 1998-4, BS EN 1998-2, BS EN 1998-4,
BS EN 1998-5 and BS EN 1998-6

Go back to the Eurocodes homepage

 Your basket
Your basket is empty